National Art Honor Society

National Art Honor Society

In 1978, the National Art Education Association began the National Art Honor Society (NAHS) program to inspire and recognize students who have shown an outstanding ability and interest in art.

The National Art Honor Society, designed specifically for high school students in grades 9-12, strives to aid members in attaining the highest standards in art scholarship, character, and service, and to bring art education to the attention of the school and community. The Art Honor Society also offers a National Junior Art Society for deserving students in grades 7-8.

Creative thinking is a vital and key component of a student’s educational experience. The National Art Honor Society is an organization whose purpose is to stimulate life long interest in sharing artistic talents to help create a more beautiful world for human kind and all living things.

FCA requirements for induction into NAHS or NJAHS:
  • Students must have completed at least one semester of Art, Photography (NAHS) or Visual Media (NAHS)
  • Students must be currently enrolled in Art, Photography (NAHS) or Visual Media (NAHS)
  • Students must have earned a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or above in Art, Photography (NAHS) or Visual Media (NAHS)
  • Students must hold a 3.25 or above in overall GPA

NAHS Applications

Students in grades 7-8
Students in grades 9-12
For more information about the Art Honor Society contact:
View text-based website